The Digi-Cult

A New Religion for a Digital Age

Sibling Rivalry

Posted by 1forfun on September 19, 2008

Hello all, welcome back for another little trip into the past. Today I’ve chosen an Atari 2600 game to share. However first I want to address the comment I got on my last post:

Sorry, Banjo Kazooie is like a 4th rate Conker’s Bad Fur Day

CBFD ftw.

     by veiledindiehubris September 18, 2008 at 5:06 pm

 

When I said Banjo Kazooie was my favourite game, the thing about it being my favourite is that I chose it from the games I’ve played. I’ve never played Conker’s Bad Fur Day, since I was all of 10 years old when the game was released. I have however heard some very good things about the game, and were I to find one for my recently reacquired N64, I would certainly buy it. And if I should happen to find it, I will reevaluate my choice.  

 

And on to Warlords. As with most early games, you wouldn’t necessarily be able to figure out the story line without being told, but the game isn’t story driven, and one is provided anyways.

http://www.consoleclassix.com/atari-2600/warlords.html

So you have four brothers who are trying to kill each other and take over each other’s land. Each Prince (player) has a castle and a moving shield to defend that castle from the ball of lightning that is being bounced between you. Basically every time your castle gets hit you lose a chunk of it, and when you get hit you die. Last man standing wins.

This is clearly a social game, since most of the entertainment comes from interacting with and taunting or ridiculing your opponents. It may seem cruel, but deep down inside you all know it amuses you, and it’s still half the fun of multiplayer games.

Another bonus to the game is that there is a fairly level playing field, as long as you can control your dial steady enough to get the shield where you want it. Beyond that, the ball has some very random trajectories, and occasionally will sneak behind the castle and shield and kill you without reason. I found that the player in the bottom right corner is most in danger of this happening.

The only real tactic to know, is if you hold down the button on the controller, you can hold the ball and release it when you want. The only drawback to this is, once again, it’s very hard to predict where the ball is going to go. And it’s hilarious when it only bounces straight back to kill your guy.

All in all, there are definitely good times to be had with this game, and it only gets better the crazier the company you keep…

All in all, if you have the inclination and happen to find or have  an Atari 2600 and Warlords, this is an excellent social game, though negligible as a solo game.

One Response to “Sibling Rivalry”

  1. veiledindiehubris said

    I may be convinced to lend out my copy of Conker’s Bad Fur Day for an appropriate amount of time; if only to make the world a better place.

Leave a Reply

 
